## New Hampshire Library Trustees Association

Board of Directors Meeting via Zoom Wednesday, September 1, 2021, 10:00 am

Attending: Deb Caplan, Connie Kirwin, Conrad Moses, Katrinka Pellecchia, Mark Branoff, Renee Mallett, Lara Berry, Tammy Hooker, Anne Chant, Marcia McLaughlin, John Stone, Susan Bartlett, Rosemary D'Arcy, Lori Fisher

Marcia called the meeting to order at 10:02am.

Susan and Rosemary introduced themselves and talked about their interest in serving on the Board.

John made a motion to accept the minutes from the June meeting, with edits to be emailed by Katrinka. Lara seconded the motion. PASSED, with Mark abstaining as he had not yet reviewed the draft.

Mark said there had been some complaints about the changed deadline for applying for scholarships. This will be reviewed at the next governance meeting.

Katrinka made a motion to accept the three Treasurer's Reports, as emailed by Mark. Lara seconded the motion. PASSED.

**State Library**. Lori Fisher reported that Round 2 of AARPA funding had opened. Part of the AARPA money has been used to make all libraries in the state members of United for Libraries. The state library is in the middle of their five-year evaluation.

**NHLA.** Denise said there were some ongoing issues with the website. NHLA is planning in in-person conference.

**Education.** Katrinka reported that the edits to the manual were complete and that printed copies had been dispersed to the state's libraries. Extra copies are still available.

Governance. The winners of the annual NHLTA Awards were announced by Anne.

Lillian Edelmann Trustee of the Year: *Ron Brown*, Wilton Public and Gregg Free Library, Wilton Library of the Year: *Derry Public Library*, Derry Library Director of the Year: *Cynthia Jewett*, James A. Tuttle Library, Antrim Sue Palmatier Award for Outstanding Support by a "Friends of the Library" Group: Friends of the Tucker Free Library, Henniker Dorothy M. Little Award: *Conrad V. Moses*, East Kingston Special Library Service Contribution Award – James McFarlin, Meredith Public Library

Anne made a motion to accept the award winners as recommended by the Executive Committee. John seconded the motion. PASSED.

Connie made a motion to accept the restructuring of the Education Committee, as presented via email. Deb seconded the motion. PASSED.

Renee motioned to accept the secretary job description, as presented via email. Katrinka seconded the motion. PASSED.

**Communication**. The deadline for anything to be added to the newsletter is Tuesday.

**Old Business**. Connie asked about the need for Board members to sign conflict of interest forms. Marcia said it would an agenda item for the October meeting.

Lara made a motion to accept both Rosemary and Susan as Board members. Deb seconded the motion. PASSED.

Lori excused herself from the remainder of the meeting.

**New Business.** Connie said NHLTA had received an email asking for recommendations of a facilitator. Rosemary thought she had an appropriate contact and said she would email the information to Connie.

Marcia made a motion to adjourn at 11:04am. John seconded. PASSED.

The next board meeting will be Wednesday, October 6th at 10 am, Zoom or in-person to be decided as the date comes closer.

Respectfully submitted, Renee Mallett